My Husband Ain’t Shit

Nah'Sun
2 min readOct 5, 2021

Video games and eating potato chips in boxer briefs –the highlight of Dell’s life.

“How’s the job search going?” Tammy stood in front of the 60-inch flat screen while Dell played 2K on the PlayBox.

“So far, so good.” Dell paused the game to tell his online opponent, “Gimme a minute. I’m talking to my wife.”

What?! She checked her emotions.

“Who are you talking to?” She suspected that Dell was chatting with another woman.

“A gamer,” he said. “I’m playing against him. Can you believe I’m losing to some kid in high school?!”

Tammy wanted to knock his head off his shoulders. “You’re playing video games with a high schooler?”

“Yeah! And I get to play with gamers from other countries, too. Cool, right?”

Her nerves jumped as if she touched a hot stove. “No, that’s not cool. You’re playing video games with someone who’s too young to get a job in their own country!”

Dell smiled and said, “I’m relaxing my mind. Instead of spending an arm and leg to see a therapist, we save money with online games.”

Her patience wore thin. The urge for her to throw the flat screen against the wall was unbearable. She rescinded the urge when realizing she’d paid for the flat screen with her money.

“You know what. I’m out.” She bolted for the garage door.

“Where you’re going?!” He yelled.

“Out!” She slammed the door that shook the room. She reopened the door seconds later and asked, “Can you fill up the tank? It’s a notch from E.”

Dell didn’t move a muscle. He was too focused on the game. The delayed response forced Tammy to remember why she wanted out of their marriage.

“Sure. Lemme finish my game first.” Dell resumed playing 2K with his online buddy until the fourth quarter hit 00:00.

He was lucky that Tammy loved her freedom.

Excerpt taken from The F.U.C.K. Book by Nah’Sun

--

--